Physics for Engineers and Scientists 3rd Edition Volume 2 by Hans C. Ohanian, ISBN-13: 978-0393930047



Physics for Engineers and Scientists 3rd Edition Volume 2 by Hans C. Ohanian, ISBN-13: 978-0393930047

[PDF eBook eTextbook] – Available Instantly

  • Publisher: ‎ W. W. Norton & Company; Third edition (March 23, 2007)
  • Language: ‎ English
  • 688 pages
  • ISBN-10: ‎ 0393930041
  • ISBN-13: ‎ 978-0393930047

Designed for the introductory calculus-based physics course, Physics for Engineers and Scientists is distinguished by its lucid exposition and accessible coverage of fundamental physical concepts.

Table of Contents:

Table of Contents
Owner’s Manual
Prelude: The World of Physics
Part IV: Electricity and Magnetism
Chapter 22: Electric Force and Electric Charge
Chapter 23: The Elecrtic Field
Chapter 24: Gauss’ Law
Chapter 25: Electrostatic Potential and Energy
Chapter 26: Capacitors and Dielectrics
Chapter 27: Currents and Ohm’s Law
Chapter 28: Direct Current Circuits
Chapter 29: Magnetic Force and Field
Chapter 30: Charges and Currents in Magnetic Fields
Chapter 31: Electromagnetic Induction
Chapter 32: Alternating Current Circuits*
Part V: Waves and Optics
Chapter 33: Electromagnetic Waves
Chapter 34: Reflection, Refraction, and Optics
Chapter 35: Interference and Diffraction
Chapter 36: The Theory of Special Relativity
Appendix 1: Greek Alphabet
Appendix 2: Mathematics Review
Appendix 3: Geometry and Trigonometry Review
Appendix 4: Calculus Review
Appendix 5: Propagating Uncertainties
Appendix 6: The International System of Units (SI)
Appendix 7: Best Values of Fundamental Constants
Appendix 8: Conversion Factors
Appendix 9: The Periodic Table and Chemical Elements
Appendix 10: Formula Sheets
Appendix 11: Answers to Odd-Numbered Problems and Review Problems
Photo credits

Hans C. Ohanian received his B.S. from the University of California, Berkeley, and his Ph.D. from Princeton University, where he worked with John A. Wheeler. He has taught at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Union College, and the University of Vermont. He is the author of several textbooks spanning all undergraduate levels: Physics, Principles of Physics, Relativity: A Modern Introduction, Modern Physics, Principles of Quantum Mechanics, Classical Electrodynamics, and, with Remo Ruffini, Gravitation and Spacetime. He is also the author of dozens of articles dealing with gravitation, relativity, and quantum theory, including many articles on fundamental physics published in the American Journal of Physics, where he served as associate editor for some years. He lives in Vermont.

John T. Markert received his B.A. in Physics and Mathematics from Bowdoin College (1979) and his M.S. (1984) and Ph.D. (1987) in Physics from Cornell University, where he was recipient of the Clark Award for Excellence in Teaching. After postdoctoral research at the University of California, San Diego, he joined the faculty at the University of Texas, Austin, in 1990, where he has received the College of Natural Sciences Teaching Excellence Award and is currently Chair of the Department and Professor of Physics. His introductory physics teaching methods emphasize context-based approaches, interactive techniques, and peer instruction. He is author or coauthor of over 120 journal articles, including many on experimental condensed matter physics research in superconductivity, magnetism, and nanoscience. He lives in Austin, Texas, with his wife and children.

What makes us different?

• Instant Download

• Always Competitive Pricing

• 100% Privacy

• FREE Sample Available

• 24-7 LIVE Customer Support


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.